Ogletree Gap Preserve
Just off U.S. Highway 190 on the west side of Copperas Cove, and now a city park with a full-service pavillion, Ogletree Gap was once the Marston Ogletree Ranch, and eventually became the original townsite. The stone structure in the park served not only as the home of Marston Ogletree and his family, but it was once a stagecoach stop and the city's first post office.
Located just south of U.S. 190 near the terminus of the South Park jogging trail. Serves as the resting place of several of the town's founders including Jesse Clements, who donated land for the first school in Copperas Cove.
Mayborn Planetarium & Space Theater
Visit the Mayborn Planetarium and Space Theater, on the campus of Central Texas College in Killeen Texas, and immerse yourself in a state-of-the-art experience like no other.
Embark on an imaginary journey through time and space. The Minolta star projector and automated suite of laser and special effect projectors accurately simulate astronomical phenomena from throughout the known universe on the 60-foot Planetarium dome. Sky shows are followed by a live star talk, a guided tour of the current evening sky.
Experience a unique and artistic mix of light, color and sound. Laser Light Shows combine eye-popping 3D graphics, pure laser-generated colors, and 15 thousand watts of digitally reproduced sound to bring your favorite music to life. Treat yourself to the most impressive motion picture available. Presented on a dome-shaped screen, more than twice as large as traditional movie screens. Large Format Films transport visitors from the depths of the world's oceans to the depths of space.
Located off of FM 3046 in SW Copperas Cove. Houses a swimming pool, volleyball courts, soccer fields and a jogging trail.
Old Downtown Copperas Cove
An area of several city blocks with Avenue E and Main Street as its center. The historic downtown area of Copperas Cove since the late 1880s. It became the center of business activity in Copperas Cove with the coming of the railroad. Many of the original buildings still exist.
The Allin House
The Allin House, located at 401 N. Main, was built in 1913 by the first mayor of Copperas Cove, Jouett Allin. This historical landmark provides a great meeting place for weddings, receptions, and showers. It is limited to groups of 25 or less and adult activities.
Jouett and Emma Allin built their first home in 1913 after Jouett was elected mayor. They inherited the land from Emma’s mother. The house was among the most prominent homes in Copperas Cove, and still displays four corner fireplaces, as well as a native-stone foundation. In 1953, the house was sold to family and was later purchased by the City in 1986. The Allin House was restored and designated as a Texas Historical Landmark in 1998.
Jouett and Emma Allin had married and settled in Copperas Cove in 1890. In addition to Jouett’s mayoral service, he was a banker, landowner, and involved in several fraternal organizations including local Masonic lodges. Emma Barker Allin was an attorney and school teacher, and was a well known church, civic, and social leader. The Allins are currently interred in the Copperas Cove Municipal Cemetery.
Located on FM 1113 about 2 miles northwest of Old Downtown Copperas Cove, City Park was developed over several years on donated land. A large public swimming pool, several baseball and softball fields, two fishing ponds, an outdoor amphitheater, several shaded picnic areas, two basketball courts, several soccer fields and the Copperas Cove Civic Center are located there.
Santa Fe Parking Lot
Donated to the city by the Santa Fe Railroad, this public parking area was once adjacent to the site of the original Copperas Cove depot. A monument to the city's pioneer past stands there.
1st Cavalry Association
Located on N. Main Street, this organization coordinates activities and communcations for veterans of the 1st Cavalry Division.
Library/Fire Department Complex
Located near the intersection of S. Main Street and Robertson Ave., these buildings serve as the nerve center of Copperas Cove.
Relocated to 914 South Main Street in 2013.